Lords of the Ring.
Lebanon, 2019.
Ring david hury Beirut Thawra 31 octobre 2019
Sit-in on the Ring, 8:26 p.m.
Beirut, Thursday October 31, 2019.
In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.
  • There are still people downtown that night . It's past 8 p.m., I'm tired. The kilometers swallowed earlier are added to those of the previous days. I lie down on the sidewalk, alongside Lazarieh. A few minutes later, I see a small procession pass a little lower, near the great mosque, then turn right to go up towards Bechara el-Khoury. It sings, it screams, it chants. I get up, put my bag back on my shoulders and start running to catch up with the little band and get ahead of it to take a few more photos. I finally spent the whole evening there
  • The procession runs along the Ring and tumbles in front of Borj el-Ghazal. The crowd grows very quickly, the police are there in force but first of all keep away. The demonstrators choose their slogans, “Selmiyeh, selmiyeh, selmiyeh!”, They proclaim themselves pacifists. A sit-in is organized, everyone sits down. But the tension begins to rise. The police are more pressing. First little scramble.
Face to face with the police, 9:25 p.m.
Beirut, Thursday October 31, 2019.
In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.
  • The songs continue, the special forces arrive. In front of the large building (ex-BNPI), a police cordon begins to surround the demonstrators who are camping in their positions. Invariably, the crowd calls out to the members of the police, telling them that it is for them too, for the whole people, that they are demonstrating
  • When the police cordon (basic version) gives way to riot police, with shells and shields. On the demonstrators side, the slogan is clear: women take power, get up and come and settle in the front line in front of the local CRS. Always in joy, always with a smile
  • Among the different bodies of the forces of order, the wills diverge. Some want to obey orders - evacuate the crowd and reopen traffic at the Ring level - others refuse because they do not want to knock on the population
Police charge, 10:24 p.m.
Beirut, Thursday October 31, 2019.
In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.
  • The tension is still rising. Suddenly the police charge. The seated demonstrators try to get up too quickly, the crush is terrible, some take batons, This first wave is repelled, then followed by a second
  • I stare at this woman carrying a flag five times the size of her. She screams, her voice already broken. His nerves give way, the one I imagine to be his sister takes refuge in his arms. Tension is contagious. The two young women crack
  • After a few minutes of abuse, the police began to take a step back. They seem to have been ordered not to do more
Perfume of victory, 10:46 p.m.
Beirut, Thursday October 31, 2019.
In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.
  • For a few seconds, the demonstrators observe the police leaving them the field. Some remain a little haggard following the charges with shields and batons. Others embrace. Those seconds of waiting are strange. The police then took refuge further up the Ring. The cries of victory begin!
  • The tension finally falls, the demonstrators rejoice. While some sing and dance, others reinstall tents and sofas, or sweep the asphalt. Very quickly, the breeze blocks and barriers from the neighboring site were used to erect a new barricade. The demonstrators savor their victory. The Borj el-Ghazal crossroads will be theirs again this evening

Lords of the Ring.
Liban, 2019.
Sit-in sur le Ring, 20h26.
Beyrouth, jeudi 31 octobre 2019.
  • Il y a du monde encore ce soir-là au centre-ville. Il est 20h passé, je suis fatigué. Les kilomètres avalés plus tôt viennent s'ajouter à ceux des jours précédents. Je m'allonge sur le trottoir, le long de Lazarieh. Quelques minutes plus tard, je vois un petit cortège passer un peu plus bas, près de la grande mosquée, puis tourner à droite pour remonter vers Bechara el-Khoury. Ça chante, ça crie, ça scande. Je me lève, remets mon sac sur les épaules et me mets à courir pour rattraper la petite bande et la devancer pour faire quelques photos supplémentaires. J'y ai finalement passé toute la soirée
  • Le cortège longe le Ring et déboule devant Borj el-Ghazal. La foule grossit très vite, les policiers sont là en force mais se tiennent d'abord à l'écart. Les manifestants choisissent leurs slogans, "Selmiyeh, selmiyeh, selmiyeh!", ils se proclament pacifistes. Un sit-in s'organise, tout le monde s'assoit. Mais la tension commence à monter. Les policiers se font plus pressants. Première petite bousculade.
Face à face avec la police, 21h25.
Beyrouth, jeudi 31 octobre 2019.
  • Les chants continuent, les forces spéciales arrivent. Devant le grand immeuble (ex-BNPI), un cordon policier commence à ceinturer les manifestants qui campent sur leurs positions. Invariablement, la foule interpelle les membres des forces de l'ordre en leur disant que c'est pour eux aussi, pour le peuple en entier, qu'ils manifestent
  • Quand le cordon de policiers (version basique) laisse la place à des policiers antiémeutes, avec carapaces et boucliers. Côté manifestants, le mot d'ordre est clair: les femmes prennent le pouvoir, se lèvent et viennent s'installer par dizaines en première ligne face aux CRS locaux. Toujours dans la joie, toujours avec le sourire
  • Parmi les différentes corps des force de l'ordre, les volontés divergent. Certains veulent obéir aux ordres – évacuer la foule et rouvrir la circulation au niveau du Ring –, d'autres refusent car ils ne veulent pas cogner sur la population
Charge policière, 22h24.
Beyrouth, jeudi 31 octobre 2019.
  • La tension monte encore. Soudain, la police charge. Les manifestants assis tentent de se relever trop vite, la bousculade est terrible, certains prennent des coups de matraque, Cette première vague est repoussée, puis suivie d'une seconde
  • Je me fixe sur cette femme portant un drapeau cinq fois plus grand qu'elle. Elle hurle, la voix déjà cassée. Ses nerfs lâchent, celle que j'imagine être sa sœur se réfugie dans ses bras. La tension est contagieuse. Les deux jeunes femmes craquent
  • Après quelques minutes d'invectives, les policiers commencent à faire un pas en arrière. Ils semblent avoir reçu l'ordre de ne pas en faire plus
Parfum de victoire, 22h46.
Beyrouth, jeudi 31 octobre 2019.
  • Pendant quelques secondes, les manifestants observent les policiers leur laisser le terrain. Certains restent un peu hagard suite aux charges à coups de boucliers et de matraques. D'autres s'enlacent. Ces secondes d'attente sont étranges. Les policiers se retranchent alors plus haut sur le Ring. Les cris de victoires commencent!
  • La tension retombe enfin, les manifestants exultent. Pendant que certains chantent et dansent, d'autres réinstallent tentes et canapés, ou passent un coup de balai sur l'asphalte. Très vite, les parpaings et barrières du chantier voisin servent à ériger une nouvelle barricade. Les manifestants savourent leur victoire. Le carrefour de Borj el-Ghazal sera à eux ce soir encore

© 2017-2020   Mentions légales   Séquence 9.2 

  • Gris Facebook Icône
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • SoundCloud