For all the gold in the world.
Beirut, 2010.

I am his gold bar. Even in the middle of the night, when he gets lost in these streets he knows too well, I glow like the most precious of fireflies. Mahmoud watches over me, I am his treasure, the one and only that he has left and that he cherishes. I sometimes scrutinize him and his gaze. A blue-gray, piercing gaze that often gets lost, I don't know where. He must remember. Remember that day in January 1976 when he entered the vault room of the British Bank of the Middle East. He had the impression of belonging to the International of Arsène Lupines. Forty-eight hours earlier, he had gone to fetch a team of specialists from the airport. Corsican locksmiths, he had been told. Around him, they spoke French, English and Arabic - Arabic with an "s" as his colleagues in junkyard came from different regions. But everyone knew for whom they were working: for Abou Amar and his small cooperative of independentists.

The large armored door gave way after these four days of work in the basement. Where they were, they heard neither the hoarse sound of bombardments nor the shrill sound of automatic weapon combat. Beirut was in chaos. The perfect season to break the bank. In fact, and he didn't know it, all of Lebanon was only talking about the Phalangist raid on the Quarantine two days earlier. A real bloodbath, 600 dead, 20,000 displaced at once. And in the south, fighting was raging in Jiyé and Damour, where progressive militiamen were giving back to the Phalangists. All this under the watchful eye of the Syrians who would impose a ceasefire two days later, just before the end of the heist. These fierce fights, far from the rue des Banques, were the ideal diversion. The eyes of the world were looking elsewhere.

In the basement, they sometimes heard the bells of the Capuchin church through which they had passed because it shared a common wall with the British Bank. Four days is a long time. But how beautiful the reward was when, in a deafening crash, the door gave up the ghost. Hundreds of individual chests awaited them. Gold bars by the dozen, hundreds of bundles of currency, treasury bills, jewelry, works of art ... They all knew it: they were not far from achieving the heist of the century. Here, rue des Banques, in the heart of Beirut.

The cave contained so many treasures that it took two days for the team to stuff the loot into several trucks. Mahmoud and his henchmen all felt irresistible, with their little goatees, cheap cigarettes, and disgusting shirts. In addition to their salary, each of them took two ingots, as souvenirs of this melody in the basement. At 32, Mahmoud didn't know it was so heavy.

The last truck left the rue des Banques with a load of jewelry and precious objects, in the fine January rain. Mahmoud watched him disappear around the corner, not knowing that Abu Amar was going to put it all in the best-kept safe of a Geneva bank. With the fighting, the streets had already turned into paddling pools, a mixture of sand, dust, powder and blood. Beirut was already not very beautiful to see at the beginning of 1976. On returning to his parents' house, he had goose bumps. It was past 11pm, it had been dark for ages. His neighborhood, on the edge of the Quarantine, was nothing but rubble. His parents and his two sisters were on the Phalangist hunting board. He would have traded all the gold in the world to go back, to be there, for the chance to protect his people.

Tonight, like every night, Mahmoud thinks back to those days in January 1976 which hit his life head-on. As often, he looks at himself in the mirror, to verify that his wrinkles are still there, that time has not turned back. He feels sadness invading him. He hates this time and, at the same time, regrets it, so much was everything possible, all the twisted blows can lead to the most beautiful stories. Except that his beautiful story has turned into a bad fairy tale. At the end of his life, he knew very well that he wouldn't be much without me. I, who am there, before his eyes. Available for all to see. I am his ultimate wealth. And in the night, I still shine.

______________________________________

From January 20 to 26, 1976, when the Christian Phalangists brought down the Quarantine, the headquarters of the British Bank of the Middle East was robbed. There are several versions on this "heist of the century". One of them points to Force 17, a group commanded by Ali Hassan Salameh and affiliated with Yasser Arafat's PLO. Another evokes the involvement of the British secret services responsible for recovering confidential documents. Exceptional amount of loot, for the time: between 20 and 50 million dollars.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Short story published in Beirut on listening / Wiretapping Beirut (Amers Editions, 2011)

Pour tout l'or du monde.
Beyrouth, 2010.

Je suis son lingot d’or. Même en pleine nuit, quand il se perd dans ces rues qu’il connaît trop bien, je luis comme la plus précieuse des lucioles. Mahmoud veille sur moi, je suis son trésor, le seul et unique qui lui reste et qu’il chérit. Je le scrute parfois, lui et son regard. Un regard bleu gris, perçant, qui souvent se perd je ne sais où. Il doit se souvenir. Se souvenir de ce jour de janvier 1976 où il entra dans la salle des coffres de la British Bank of the Middle East. Il avait l’impression d’appartenir à l’Internationale des Arsène Lupin. Quarante-huit heures plus tôt, il était allé chercher à l’aéroport une équipe de spécialistes. Des serruriers corses, lui avait-on dit. Autour de lui, ça parlait français, anglais et arabes – arabe avec un «s» tant ses collègues de casse venaient de régions différentes. Mais tous savaient pour qui ils travaillaient: pour Abou Amar et sa petite coopérative d’indépendantistes. 

 

La grande porte blindée céda après ces quatre jours de travail en sous-sol. Là où ils étaient, ils n’entendaient ni le son rauque des bombardements, ni celui strident des combats à l’arme automatique. Beyrouth était en plein chaos. La saison idéale pour faire sauter la banque. En fait, et il ne le savait pas, tout le Liban ne parlait que de la razzia des Phalangistes sur la Quarantaine, deux jours plus tôt. Un vrai bain de sang, 600 morts, 20000 déplacés d’un coup. Et au sud, les combats faisaient rage à Jiyé et à Damour, où les miliciens progressistes étaient en train de rendre la monnaie de leur pièce aux Phalangistes. Tout ça sous l’œil attentif des Syriens qui imposeraient un cessez-le-feu deux jours plus tard, juste avant la fin du casse. Ces combats acharnés, loin de la rue des Banques, constituaient la diversion idéale. Les yeux du monde regardaient ailleurs. 

 

En sous-sol, ils entendaient parfois les cloches de l’église des Capucins par laquelle ils étaient passés car elle partageait un mur commun avec la British Bank. Quatre jours, c’est long. Mais que la récompense fut belle quand, dans un fracas assourdissant, la porte rendit l’âme. Des centaines de coffres individuels les attendaient. Des lingots d’or par dizaines, des centaines de liasses de devises, des bons du Trésor, des bijoux, des œuvres d’art... Ils le savaient tous : ils n’étaient pas loin de réaliser le casse du siècle. Ici, rue des Banques, en plein Beyrouth. 

 

La caverne renfermait tant de trésors qu’il fallut ensuite deux jours à l’équipe pour enfourner le butin à bord de plusieurs camions. Mahmoud et ses acolytes se sentaient tous irrésistibles, avec leurs petites barbichettes, leurs cigarettes bon marché et leurs chemises dégoûtantes. En plus de leurs appointements, chacun d’entre eux prit deux lingots, comme souvenirs de cette mélodie en sous-sol. A 32 ans, Mahmoud ne savait pas que ça pesait si lourd. 

 

Le dernier camion repartit de la rue des Banques avec le chargement de bijoux et d’objets précieux, sous la pluie fine de janvier. Mahmoud le regarda disparaître au coin de la rue, ne sachant pas qu’Abou Amar allait mettre tout ça dans le coffre mieux gardé d’une banque de Genève. Avec les combats, les rues s’étaient déjà transformées en pataugeoires, mélange de sable, de poussière, de poudre et de sang. Beyrouth n’était déjà plus très belle à voir en ce début 1976. En rentrant vers la maison de ses parents, il eut la chair de poule. Il était 23 heures passées, il faisait nuit depuis une éternité. Son quartier, en bordure de la Quarantaine, n’était que débris. Ses parents et ses deux sœurs figuraient au tableau de chasse des Phalangistes. Il aurait échangé tout l’or du monde pour revenir en arrière, pour être là, pour avoir eu la chance de protéger les siens. 

 

Ce soir, comme tous les soirs, Mahmoud repense à ces jours de janvier 1976 qui ont percuté sa vie de plein fouet. Comme souvent, il se regarde dans le miroir, pour vérifier que ses rides sont toujours là, que le temps n’a pas fait machine arrière. Il sent la tristesse l’envahir. Il hait cette époque et, en même temps, la regrette, tant tout était possible, tous les coups tordus pouvant déboucher sur les plus belles histoires. Sauf que sa belle histoire à lui s’est transformée en conte de mauvaises fées. Au soir de sa vie, il sait pourtant bien qu’il ne serait pas grand chose sans moi. Moi qui suis là, sous ses yeux. Offert aux yeux de tous. Je suis son ultime richesse. Et dans la nuit, je brille encore. 

 

______________________________________

 

Du 20 au 26 janvier 1976, alors que les Phalangistes chrétiens faisaient tomber la Quarantaine, le siège de la British Bank of the Middle East se fait dévaliser. Il existe plusieurs versions sur ce «casse du siècle». L’une d’elles pointe du doigt la Force 17, un groupe commandé par Ali Hassan Salameh et affilié à l’OLP de Yasser Arafat. Une autre évoque l’implication des services secrets britanniques chargés de récupérer des documents confidentiels. Montant exceptionnel du butin, pour l’époque: entre 20 et 50 millions de dollars. 

Nouvelle publiée dans Beyrouth sur écoute / Wiretapping Beirut (Amers Editions, 2011)

 

© 2017-2019   Mentions légales   Séquence 9.2 

  • Gris Facebook Icône
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • SoundCloud