The Hamra barricade.
Beirut, 2010.

It is almost midnight. I will finally have a little break. In my street, the aptly named Hamra la Rouge, silence is a rare commodity. And there, everything seems calm, peaceful. For how long, I have no idea. It's always been like that in Beirut anyway. You never know when the silence will give way to chaos. And vice versa. That's why everyone loves my city elsewhere.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

After the constant struggle that has been this day, my barricade still stands, but it will not resist very long like that. I only have half of the cartridges stored the day before. It's my business, and it's doing pretty well.

Tucked away in the half-light of my alcove, I wonder if I will ever see the cedars of my childhood again. I especially remember my grandfather's pine tree that stood behind the house on that dark hill. He often told me the story of these gypsies he had met in his youth, of their vanilla scent, when he had crossed the world to reach the heart of Europe. Back in the days when traveling was not just about letting yourself be carried by the wings of an airplane. He transported me to the epics he himself had lived, through his abortive romance with the granddaughter of the Duke of Kent, through the tragedy of a royal family - from I do not know what country now defunct - for which he had worked a few years before the viceroy put a price on his head for a theft of jewels of which he was, of course, innocent. It wasn't just anyone, my grandfather.

Tonight I will try to rest a little. I deserve it. The street has calmed down. In ten minutes, I'll dive back into the book my brother Aziz lent me. A funny story that takes place in an imaginary world, both futuristic and archaic. It sometimes looks like my country, I don't know why ... When I left the hero last night, he was in bad shape. I wonder how poor Winston is going to get away with this. I look at my watch: it's midnight two. At the end of the street, I see a shining halo that doesn't mean anything to me. I lean forward a little over my barricade to see what it is. But from where I am, impossible to distinguish exactly this source of light. I would have to go out, but I don't dare. I'll wait until it disappears. These are not the brave guys who are posted behind the barricades these days.

Time flies. I want a cigarette but I finished my pack shortly before sunset. I'm still rummaging through my wallet, just in case. I don't see a thing, I let the tips of my fingers browse my little personal mess. Stroke of luck! To the touch, I recognize the shape, delicate and rounded, of the fuselage of my rod. A Davidoff. I have always found this brand very glamorous. A little snobbish even. When I light one, I always imagine myself sitting comfortably, warm, in the imposing chesterfield that sits in the window of the furniture gallery near my house. But to pay me it, I would have to change businesses.

Well, it's decided, nothing will happen tonight, I won't have any more clients at that time. The Beirut night slowly envelops me. I hope the day dawns on Hamra tomorrow.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

______________________________________

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

News published in Beirut on listening / Wiretapping Beirut   (Amers Editions, 2011)

La barricade de Hamra.
Beyrouth, 2010.

Il est bientôt minuit. Je vais enfin avoir un peu de répit. Dans ma rue, la bien nommée Hamra la Rouge, le silence est une denrée rare. Et là, tout semble calme, apaisé. Pour combien de temps, je n’en ai aucune idée. Ça a toujours été comme ça à Beyrouth de toutes façons. On ne sait jamais quand le silence laissera la place au chaos. Et inversement. C’est pour ça que tout le monde aime ma ville d’ailleurs. 

Après le combat de tous les instants qu’a été cette journée, ma barricade tient encore debout, mais elle ne résistera pas très longtemps comme ça. Il ne me reste que la moitié des cartouches emmagasinées la veille. C’est mon business, et il se porte plutôt bien. 

 

Bien tapi dans la pénombre de mon alcôve, je me demande si je reverrai un jour les cèdres de mon enfance. Je me souviens surtout du pin de mon grand- père qui se dressait derrière la maison, sur cette colline sombre. Il me racontait souvent l’histoire de ces gitanes qu’il avait rencontrées dans sa jeunesse, de leur parfum de vanille, quand il avait traversé le monde pour atteindre le cœur de l’Europe. Au temps où voyager ne se résumait pas à se laisser porter par les ailes d’un avion. Il me transportait avec les épopées qu’il avait lui-même vécues, à travers sa romance avortée avec la petite-fille du duc de Kent, à travers la tragédie d’une famille royale – de je ne sais quel pays aujourd’hui disparu – pour laquelle il avait travaillé quelques années avant que le vice-roi ne mette sa tête à prix pour un vol de bijoux dont il était, bien sûr, innocent. Ce n’était pas n’importe qui, mon grand-père. 

 

Ce soir, je vais essayer de me reposer un peu. Je le mérite bien. La rue s’est calmée. D’ici dix minutes, je me replongerai dans le livre que mon frère Aziz m’a prêté. Une drôle d’histoire qui se passe dans un monde imaginaire, à la fois futuriste et archaïque. Ça ressemble parfois à mon pays, je ne sais pas pourquoi... Quand j’ai quitté le héros hier soir, il était en mauvaise posture. Je me demande comment le pauvre Winston va s’en sortir. Je regarde ma montre: il est minuit deux. Au bout de la rue, j’aperçois un halo brillant qui ne me dit rien qui vaille. Je me penche un peu en avant, par-dessus ma barricade pour voir ce que c’est. Mais d’où je suis, impossible de distinguer exactement cette source de lumière. Il faudrait que je sorte, mais je n’ose pas. J’attendrai qu’elle disparaisse. Ce ne sont pas les gars courageux que l’on poste derrière les barricades de nos jours. 

 

Le temps file. J’ai envie d’une cigarette mais j’ai fini mon paquet peu avant le coucher du soleil. Je fouille quand même ma besace, au cas où. Je n’y vois rien, je laisse le bout de mes doigts parcourir mon petit bazar personnel. Coup de chance! Au toucher, je reconnais la forme, délicate et arrondie, du fuselage de ma tige. Une Davidoff. J’ai toujours trouvé cette marque très glamour. Un peu snob même. Quand j’en allume une, je m’imagine toujours confortablement assis, bien au chaud, dans l’imposant chesterfield qui trône dans la vitrine de la galerie de meubles près de chez moi. Mais pour me le payer, il faudrait que je change de business. 

 

Bon, c’est décidé, il ne se passera plus rien ce soir, je n’aurai plus de clients à cette heure-là. La nuit beyrouthine m’enveloppe lentement. J’espère que le jour se lèvera demain sur Hamra. 

______________________________________

Nouvelle publiée dans Beyrouth sur écoute / Wiretapping Beirut (Amers Editions, 2011)

 

© 2017-2019   Mentions légales   Séquence 9.2 

  • Gris Facebook Icône
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • SoundCloud