Joana under the pines.
Beirut, 2010.

You don't know it yet, Joana, but the day after tomorrow, the good guys and the bad guys will end the fighting. What will we be ... on July 12? Yeah, something like that. For now, you give yourself a few minutes of respite, lying in the shade, your head propped up on the trunk of a pine tree. The battle of Damour is drawing to a close. Yesterday, you saw Antoine die before your eyes. You know it could have been you. You have the impression that this moment of tranquility could last all eternity. A drop of sweat creeps up the back of your neck. You feel it, you perceive it as the mark left by the cold skin of a small mountain snake. You breathe the air, you imagine thyme, sage and gunpowder mixed in a funny cocktail. It smells good here. It's almost calm.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

A bird is lost in the sky of the Levant. It hovers above you, comes to rest on one of the branches of your pine tree. He is seized with convulsions. A few feathers escape from its wings and fall at your feet. You have the impression that he is coughing, that he is choking. You expect to see it topple over at any time. And then no, it takes off again. You look at the feathers slumped on the gravel at your feet. You tell yourself that if you were a kid, you would pick them up to make yourself an Indian outfit like in the movie you saw in the cinema two years ago. You know, the one with the dark Claudette Colbert. Don't you remember, On the trail of the Mohawks ? It was good. It was a time of peace. But you're not a kid anymore. You close your eyelids, your legs start to go numb. You tell yourself that really, you would stay here, without moving, until death follows.

But the Battalion of the chasseurs à pied is counting on you to take the small road which leads to Beirut from the enemy and to make the junction with those who fought valiantly near Souk el-Gharb, up there in the mountain. Be careful, your few minutes of rest will soon be over. You will have to take back the gun that sleeps beside you like a loving woman. No doubt, you two make a great couple. Pity. Too bad you can't see the sun rise once more. What would you gain from living beyond next night anyway? You would fight on another front. In Africa? In Europe? Far from your home. I do not know what to tell you. One day, for sure, your name will be engraved somewhere for future generations to remember what happened here. But you don't care. Right now, you're making your cheek wiggle because of a little twig tickling your face.

Enjoy. Enjoy every second of these scents of paradise that this little corner of greenery offers you. Paying attention, I'm sure you can hear the lapping waves of the Mediterranean. It's calm, it's beautiful here, under the pines.

______________________________________

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

On June 8, 1941, in the midst of World War II, the Allies launched Operation Exporter, to retake Syria and Lebanon from German forces. The soldiers of Free France and those of the Arab Legion join the British soldiers, and fight the troops who remained loyal to Vichy. The fighting ceased on July 12, the armistice was signed on the 14th.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Short story published in Beirut on listening / Wiretapping Beirut (Amers Editions, 2011)

Joana sous les pins.
Beyrouth, 2010.

Tu ne le sais pas encore Joana, mais après-demain, les gentils et les méchants signeront la fin des combats. Nous serons quoi... le 12 juillet? Oui, quelque chose comme ça. Pour l’instant, tu t’offres quelques minutes de répit, allongé à l’ombre, la tête calée sur le tronc d’un pin. La bataille de Damour touche à sa fin. Hier, tu as vu Antoine mourir sous tes yeux. Tu sais que cela aurait pu être toi. Tu as l’impression que ce moment de quiétude pourrait durer toute l’éternité. Une goutte de sueur se faufile le long de ta nuque. Tu la sens, tu la perçois comme la trace que laisserait la peau froide d’un petit serpent de montagne. Tu respires l’air, tu imagines le thym, la sauge et la poudre à canon mêlés dans un drôle de cocktail. Ça sent bon ici. C’est presque calme. 

Un oiseau s’est perdu dans le ciel du Levant. Il plane au-dessus de toi, vient se poser sur l’une des branches de ton pin. Il est comme pris de convulsions. Quelques plumes s’échappent de ses ailes et tombent à tes pieds. Tu as l’impression qu’il tousse, qu’il s’étrangle. Tu t’attends à tout moment à le voir basculer. Et puis non, il reprend son envol. Tu regardes les plumes affalées sur les graviers, à tes pieds. Tu te dis que si tu étais gosse, tu les ramasserais pour t’en faire une panoplie d’Indien comme dans le film que tu as vu au cinéma il y a deux ans. Tu sais, celui avec la ténébreuse Claudette Colbert. Tu ne te souviens pas, Sur la piste des Mohawks? C’était bien. C’était du temps de la paix. Mais tu n’es plus un gosse. Tu clos tes paupières, tes jambes commencent à s’engourdir. Tu te dis que vraiment, tu resterais bien ici, sans bouger, jusqu’à ce que mort s’en suive. 

 

Mais le Bataillon des chasseurs à pied compte sur toi pour prendre à l’ennemi la petite route qui déboule sur Beyrouth et pour faire la jonction avec ceux qui se sont vaillamment battus du côté de Souk el-Gharb, là haut dans la montagne. Attention, tes quelques minutes de repos vont bientôt s’achever. Il va te falloir reprendre le fusil qui dort à tes côtés comme une femme aimante. Pas de doute, vous faites un beau couple tous les deux. Dommage. Dommage que tu ne puisses pas voir le soleil se lever une fois de plus. Que gagnerais-tu à vivre au-delà de la nuit prochaine de toutes façons? Tu irais te battre sur un autre front. En Afrique? En Europe? Loin de chez toi. Je ne sais pas quoi te dire. Un jour, c’est sûr, ton nom sera gravé quelque part pour que les générations futures se souviennent de ce qu’il s’est passé ici. Mais tu t’en fous. Pour l’heure, tu fais gigoter ta joue à cause d’une petite brindille qui te chatouille le visage. 

 

Profite. Profite de chaque seconde, de ces senteurs de paradis que t’offre ce petit coin de verdure. En faisant bien attention, je suis sûr que tu peux entendre le clapotis des vagues de la Méditerranée. C’est calme, c’est beau ici, sous les pins. 

 

______________________________________

Le 8 juin 1941, en pleine Seconde Guerre mondiale, les Alliés lancent l’Operation Exporter, pour reprendre la Syrie et le Liban aux forces allemandes. Les soldats de la France libre et ceux de la Légion arabe rejoignent les soldats britanniques, et combattent les troupes restées fidèles à Vichy. Les combats cessent le 12 juillet, l’armistice est signée le 14. 

Nouvelle publiée dans Beyrouth sur écoute / Wiretapping Beirut (Amers Editions, 2011)

 

© 2017-2019   Mentions légales   Séquence 9.2 

  • Gris Facebook Icône
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • SoundCloud